… which is more than a little odd as I don’t really have a true ‘week’. My partner works shifts and has different days off each week and I work from home, so can organise myself any which way I choose, yet I still get Monday Morning Blues.

From Parada Creations

I find that I can’t shake the mental ‘weekend’ even if I have been working all through it. Monday still somehow looms ominously in front of me and I still get that ‘pit of the stomach’ back to school feeling. This feeling is so very different from the ‘new term’ feeling which is usually one of bubbling excitement at the thought of new pens and stationery! It is a real ‘oh no do I have to?’ sinking sensation.

How do you beat it?

I’ve come to the conclusion that somethings cannot be beaten and therefore have to be endured and worked around. So now I allow myself Monday mornings off. I don’t even think about starting work until I have savoured the peaceful morning which accompanies the children’s return to school/college and several cups of tea and maybe an hour of catch up TV, from things I have missed the previous week. It provides me with a gentle entry into the new week and prevents me hyperventilating the minute I open my eyes!  One thing about being a WOB (wise old bird)  that has a definite advantage over being a FYT (fresh young thing) is that I have learnt not to sweat the little things. That somethings cannot be changed and therefore any attempt to do so is futile. Flexibility is crucial to maintain a healthy work/life balance. If you become intractable in your habits you will find yourself being frustrated time and time again by interruptions and events you cannot predict or prevent. If you lose an hour here you can make it up at another time.

I think one thing I have always felt during my time working in my PhD is that there is never enough time.But there is … all you have to do is breathe deeply when things get a little hectic and remind yourself that:

Time is the coin of your life. It is the only coin you have, and only you can determine how it will be spent. Be careful lest you let other people spend it for you. Carl Sandburg (1878 – 1967)

Wise words, which I think I need to remind myself of daily.

**CONFERENCE ALERT**

THE MIDDLEBROW – NEWCASTLE 12TH APRIL 2012

Leave a Reply

